About Us

The Southeast Asia Regional Climate Centre Network (SEA RCC-Network) was set up following the passing of Resolution 5 of the Sixteenth Session of WMO RA-V (2-8 May 2014, Jakarta, Indonesia) to establish two WMO RCC-Networks in RA-V – one network for the Southeast Asian sub-region and one network for the South-West Pacific sub-region. The SEA RCC-Network entered demonstration phase in November 2017 and covers the Southeast Asia region spanning 10°S – 20°N and 90°E – 140°E. The SEA RCC-Network started with three nodes. Each node is led by an institution and may include contributions from other nodes in a consortium:

  • Long-range Forecasting NodeMeteorological Service Singapore (MSS) (Lead), Philippine Atmospheric, Geophysical and Astronomical Services Administration (PAGASA) (Consortium Member)
  • Climate Monitoring NodePAGASA (Lead), Agency for Meteorology, Climatology and Geophysics of the Republic of Indonesia (BMKG) (Consortium Member), MSS (Consortium Member)
  • Operational Data Services NodeBMKG (Lead)

The SEA RCC-Network structure, in principle, flexible and open and can evolve accordingly to the region’s National Meteorological and Hydrological Services (NMHSs) requirements. In the demonstration phase of the SEA RCC-Network, the focus will be the establishment of an operational capability to deliver the mandatory roles of each functional node and then towards a WMO designation of the SEA RCC-Network (target 2020/2021). Beyond the official designation status, future plans of the SEA RCC-Network include the provision of subseasonal-to-seasonal (S2S) forecasts and the development of new seasonal wind products by the long-range forecasting (LRF) node.

Significant milestones of SEA RCC-Network’s developments are illustrated in the timeline below.